Facebook has started rolling out that new round of privacy settings supposedly making it easier to block people and de-tag bad photos of yourself instantly. The company said it would provide the options for users by the end of this month, and some in New Zealand have already started to see the changes, per the Next Web's Jon Russell. Over the next week or so, the subtle tweaks will arrive on your screen, too — but you've got to have a keen eye to discover how they're really affecting your profile.

For one, the new drop-down settings screen will look different, as pictured at the top of this post. But to ensure that users know that they have these new options at their disposal, Facebook will present the explanatory message above at right, as soon as you visit Facebook.com. That "How do I stop someone from bothering me?" link leads to another privacy page, which offers up a pretty clear description of who can see what, exactly — and, maybe more importantly, which strangers and friends can now track you down: 

These things used to be buried deeper in the website, a placement that drew heavy criticism. But even with the move to quell those privacy fears, Facebook has still made adjustments that some won't like. Everyone is searchable now, and, because the social network is trying to be more transparent about privacy, we're also going to get a lot more explanatory pop-ups. If you don't approve of these new universal policies, the only way to opt out is unfortunate, as usual: You have to drop Facebook altogether.